(New) Music / Downloads / Funk / Hip-Hop / Hybrid / Imports / Media / Mixes / NYC Hybrid / NYC Underground / Reviews and Releases / Soul/R&B / Tropical

Sounds in the Clouds: Stimulus’ Africa In Your Earbuds 4.0 – WHAT IT MEANS (presented by Okay Africa)

Stimulus - Africa In Your Earbuds #4 Art, by DJ Underdog

I listen to a lot of dope music, much more than you would think from my recent posts (or lack there of)! Like so many people, I discover a lot of this dopeness in the “cloud”, whether it be via Soundcloud, MixCloud, or some other site or streaming service. It’s long overdue that I make a solid effort to share some of the goodies that have grabbed me. People hook me up. I should hook-up people right back. It starts today with a brand new discovery for me – Brooklyn MC and DJ, Stimulus. I’m sure Stimulus is a familiar name to at least a few of you, especially to the Okay Africa readers. Stimulus spits AND spins, but it’s the latter that is the focus of Surreal Soundscapes’ first Sounds in the Clouds  post. On WHAT IT MEANS his Africa In Your Earbuds 4.0 mix, Stimulus keeps it funky by blending Afrobeat, hip hop, funk, R&B, and a little Mike Jackson (MJ should have his own genre) to produce 47.5 minutes of uptempo chillness. The mix is simultaneously energetic and soothing – basically the ideal combination to lift spirits, get heads nodding, and feet stepping. CHECK IT OUT BELOW! And check Stimulus LIVE TONIGHT (November 11th) at Brooklyn Beauty Bar’s Bionic Boogie!!!

Track List:

  1. Buy Africa – Fela Kuti – Shakara / London Scene – Nigeria
  2. Egbe Mi O – Fela Kuti & Africa 70 w/ Ginger Baker – Nigeria
  3. Monday In Lagos (Marksmen Remix) – KRS One – Afrostreet Records
  4. Water No Get Enemy Pt. 2 – D’Angelo, Femi Kuti & Macy Gray – Red Hot + Riot
  5. American Gangster (Mike Love Remix) – Jay Z – Nigerian Gangster
  6. Teacher – Sahr Nguajah & Lilias White – FELA! Original Broadway Cast Recording
  7. Don’t Worry About My Mouth – Fela Kuti – Stalemate / Fear Not For Man
  8. Remember The Time (Roforo Mix) – Michael Jackson – The King Meets The President In Africa
  9. 2000 Blacks Got To Be Free – Fela Kuti & Roy Ayers

For more on Stimulus, check his WEBSITE:

For more of Stimulus’ sounds in the clouds, check Soundcloud:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s