Events / Funk / Hip-Hop / Hybrid / Jazz / NYC Funk / Soul/R&B / Videos

Saturday Soul Search: Roy Ayers, Jazz Mafia Symphony and HSA Students at Central Park Summerstage Tonight

Tonight I’ll be in Central Park to watch performances by  the legendary Roy Ayres, Jazz Mafia Symphony, as well as a select group of students from the Harlem School of the Arts Jazz Band. Roy Ayers is a legend in hip hop, funk, soul, jazz and basically music in general, and my homie Nadav (of Breakdown Brass and Ikebe Shakedown) recently put me on to Jazz Mafia. So, I have some idea of what to expect this evening, but, I expect to be surprised overall. With this in mind I figured it would be a good idea to post a couple videos of these musicians for the Surreal Soundscapes Saturday Soul Search. It allows all of us to get even better acquainted with these amazing musicians. Roy Ayres’ status is bullet-proof and San Francisco-based Jazz Mafia Symphony has fast become an institution in the Bay Area and among music fans far and wide. Both deserve their own, more in-depth, posts in the future. I have a feeling that I”ll be saying the same thing about at least one of the HSA students, in the near future; these kids are already doing big things just by sharing the stage with such very accomplished musical visionaries. By then I’ll have found one of their videos to share. For now we’ll have to make due on Roy Ayres and Jazz Mafia Symphony… I’ll let you know how the young’ns do tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

